That Time We Became Galactic Heroes

So… My friends and I went to Disneyland last Sunday. My friend, Casey, works for Disney (no not Disneyland. Like he actually works for the company. He always has to make that very clear), so he was able to get a bunch of us in for free. It ended up being a group of like 10 of our friends. Shoot, I can’t remember the last time we all went to Disneyland together… maybe never? So nevertheless, it was pretty exciting. We only went for half the day, but we still managed to get a lot done. We got there around 1pm and it was PACKED. We asked the parking attendant why they were so busy and he explained that it was the last day of everything pretty much. The last day of vacation for most kids, the last day of Fantasmic (and most of those attractions in that area. They’re closing it down to build Star Wars land and take down the Christmas decorations), and the last day of the “Aladdin” musical in California Adventure. It was insane.

So we started off in California Adventure. We tried to get fast passes for Aladdin, but they were all sold out for the day and there was still a huge line for standby tickets. STANDBY. Not even guaranteed seats. Sheesh! So we hit up Tower of Terror instead. Which seemed so much more fun with a huge group of friends. Then we went back to Disneyland to try to get fastpasses for Hyperspace Mountain (spacemountain with the new Star Wars update), but those were out for the day as well. So we decided to grab some grub instead. We all split up. A few people went to get us all fastpasses for Star Tours and I went with some of the guys to ESPN zone to see my boys play. We won 🙂
After lunch, we took the monorail back to Tomorrowland and checked out the Innoventions area (also decked out for Star Wars… they’re really trying to capitalize on this Star Wars biz… Hey, I’m not complaining). Then we rode the Matterhorn. Dude. DUDE. The Matterhorn is no joke. That shit is SO scary now. I remember when the yeti was this fake looking monster statue. Now it’s like a living breathing thing! And it’s PISSED. I swear. I’ve ridden it like a dozen times and it still scares the crap out of me!

Next we decided to just bite the bullet and get in line for Hyperspace Mountain. A few of us got in line while the others got churros and fastpasses for Indiana Jones. I gotta say… Hyperspace Mountain was pretty sick. The coaster is like an X wing fighter so you and your squad are going up against some TIE fighters. There’s lasers shooting everywhere. It’s kinda awesome. And for the picture, I threw up a Vulcan salute. I’m just a badass rebel like that (see what I did there? Rebel??) (How did my blog get so saturated with Star Wars nerd culture? I swear I’m not that big of a Star Wars fan… I blame Disney)

After that, we hopped on Astro Blasters real quick. And this is where my life changed foreverrrrr…

So I’m low key IN LOVE with this ride. I rode it for the first time at Disneyworld and thought it was the greatest thing ever. A ride that’s interactive, where you get to actually shoot things, and gain points. On top of all of that… it’s Buzz freaking Lightyear. I could not WAIT until it came to California. Which of course it did… because it was too awesome not to. And back in highschool my friends and I would get super competitive about it. In the last 30 minutes before Disneyland closed, we’d ride that sucker like 10 times in a row trying to beat each other’s’ high scores. One of the workers explained that each shape was worth a different amount of points. Oooo even more interesting. Circles are lowest, then squares, then diamonds, then triangles are the highest. You also get bonus points if you hit a shape while it’s lit up. We would memorize where all the triangles were, and even found the little hidden shapes in the tunnel, but even with all of that, we’d only hit up to 500,000 on a good day. So this day, we were like 10 feet into the ride and the ride broke down. You were still allowed to shoot at stuff, but the track stopped so we were stuck in one spot. My friend and I were lucky enough to have stopped right in front of a diamond. So we just kept shooting till our arms hurt. And once you get that sweet spot you don’t wanna move. So I just kept shooting and shooting. Soon enough we both maxed out our scoreboard to 999,999. We were all laughing and screaming. Our friend in the car next to us was yelling “CHEATERS!!” and I just yelled back “THIS IS FOR THE GALAXY!!!!!!!” and my eye never left the target. I swear we were the loudest people on the ride. Poor children. So we finally started up again, then 10 seconds later it stopped AGAIN. This time we were in front of a rotating target that presented a diamond half the time and a triangle the other half of the time. Needless to say, we were racking up points. By the end of it, I was just laughing so hard I couldn’t even shoot any more. At the end of the ride, our score boards flashed Level 7 (which according to the chart on the wall, designated us as Galactic Heroes). So Zach and I just looked at each other and yelled “GALACTIC HEROOOOOOOOOOES!!!!!!!!”. We were practically running down to the kiosks to see our actual scores. So we found our picture and saw our scores and in a sick twist of fate, they switched my score with Zach’s!! So I don’t even want to post it because everyone will think that Zach beat me and that’s SO not true. He pretty much stopped playing halfway through, so there is no WAY he beat me. Ask my other friends, ‘cause their scores got flipped too. Of course the ONE time it matters, it gets screwed up. Not cool Disney. Not cool. 

Nonetheless, a new screen popped up for us to put our initials in for our high score. Zach, being evil, was straight up about to put his own initials. So naturally, I jumped him from behind. Hell no. I’ve worked too hard for this! I’VE WAITED TOO LONG!!! So after a minute of physically shoving each other out of the way, we settled on a compromise (I still don’t see why we had to compromise. It was MY high score, but whatever). We typed in KAZ, for both our names. Then we looked up at the big screen and there it was. Our picture, then our initials right at the top of the list NUMBER freaking ONE baby. The best day ever.

The rest of the night was a blur… I mean does it really matter at this point? Why am I still even going to work. I’m a freaking galactic hero, I don’t need to put up with this crap. I have bigger fish to fry.

I think we ate some dinner at the Cove Bar (barely made it in time to get seated). Stayed to watch World of Color. Went on Toy Story Mania (I lost there, but does it even matter? At this point I was still on a euphoric high from finding out that I was the Number 1, high scoring, Galactic Hero of the world! Well at least for that day… semantics). Sped back to Disneyland. Caught the snow and the end of the firework show. Which is amazing by the way. One of the best firework shows they’ve ever had, in my opinion. We rode Star Tours, then Indiana Jones, then called it a night. On the ride home we belted “Boyz II Men” at the top of our lungs until I fell asleep.

Not too shabby for half a day. I feel like we got most of the major rides in. Oh and did I mention that I was the Number 1, high scoring, Galactic Hero of the day? Oh I did? Well just in case you missed it…

 

IMG_9784imageIMG_9783

BEST. DAY. EVER.

-Kat

 

P.S. Thanks to Casey and Karen for hooking it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

