27 Things I Learned as I Turned 27

So… Since the response to my previous blog (26 Things I Learned as I Turned 26) turned out pretty good, I thought I’d take another stab at it for 2016 (better late than never I guess). I always think it’s good to do some regular introspection. So I thought of all of the experiences I’ve had, places I’ve been, books I’ve read, events that have happened, people I got to know… etc. and came up with 27 of the most prominent things I’ve learned about myself and the world in general in 2016. Some of them are silly and some of them I learned the hard way. I hope it brings you insight and inspires you to do some soul-searching of your own as well. And without further ado

In 2016 I learned…

  1. I’m a damn good clinical dietitian.
  2. Manatees are really friendly and actually really like human contact. They’re like huge sea cows with hearts of puppies. Don’t let the safety videos scare you.
  3. How to surf. I’d gone before, but this is the first time I’ve ever gotten an actual lesson. Thanks/Sorry Trevor!
  4. The mean age of mothers who had kids with down syndrome is 32 years old. According to Melissa, I have 7 months to find the man of my dreams and start procreating. She said 1 year ago….
  5. Being a feminist doesn’t mean that I hate men. Being a feminist means that I believe in equality for all sexes. It’s like how the black lives matter movement isn’t about hating white people. It’s about believing in equality for all races.
  6. It’s not wrong for someone to be “super into politics all of a sudden”. Don’t shame people for caring about issues. Even if it IS sudden. The state of our nation has drastically changed in a short amount of time. There is no shame in being concerned about that. It’s never too late to start caring.
  7. Ojai has NOTHING good on Tuesdays. It might just generally suck on all days, but I can definitely confirm Tuesdays.
  8. Groupon is the best last-minute trip planner. Yeah. Those groupon getaway deals are actually legit! I was a cynic too at first.
  9. Every good second date should consist of pj’s and netflix… no “chill”. And no I don’t mean sex! All I’m saying is… do yourself a favor, skip the small talk, and go straight to being an old boring couple who take “netflix and chill” quite literally.
  10. Cheese crumbs spread before a pair of copulating rats will distract the female, but not the male. Did I just hear someone open up a bag of cheetos?? Hey! It’s BIOLOGICAL
  11. One smile can generate the same level of brain stimulation as up to 2000 bars of chocolate. However it only takes me 1 bar of chocolate to generate a smile.
  12. The only way to do dating “right”, is to do whatever the hell is “right” for you
  13. Having a job with medical insurance is more important than I thought it was. I figured that at my age, what’s the big deal… But after saving over $2000 in medical bills from one ER visit, I am very aware of how truly lucky I am.
  14. How to make a decent lemon bar
  15. You can’t please everyone. The best you can do is produce work that you are happy with and proud of. If people like it, great. If they don’t, who cares? You’re proud of it and that’s all that matters.
  16. Long distance relationships are difficult, but not impossible. Especially if you talk on the phone at least twice a day for multiple hours and still never run out of things to talk about.
  17. There are companies who charge over $1000 to bring you on the same kind of trip that I planned for my friends for free (Havasupai Adventures). So pretty much… I should charge for my services. 
  18. Friends who plan a fake proposal that neither you OR your boyfriend know about, are the BEST kind of friends.
  19. I am completely and utterly in love with Elon Musk (fun fact: his mom was a dietitian).
  20. Passion is extremely sexy.
  21. Sometimes the best restaurants aren’t the ones that you find with 5 stars on yelp. They’re the ones that you stumble into randomly while wandering around a new town.
  22. Women in flowy dresses travel to the most beautiful locations.


  23. If you’re good enough, you can get paid to play video games all day. Because there are other people who will pay to sit and watch you play video games all day (www.twitch.tv) Like it’s legitimately a real thing. And if you’re an attractive female, you don’t even have to be that good.
  24. It’s important to have the confidence to say, “If the tables were turned, I’d definitely want to date me” If you wouldn’t date you, don’t expect anyone else of value to want to date you either. Focus on you and the right kind of people will start falling in line.
  25. According to Malcolm Gladwell, it takes about 10,000 hours of practice to achieve mastery in a field. Jane of all trades… Master of none.
  26. State your needs. Never hesitate to do this. You can’t complain about not getting what you want, if you have not yet declared exactly what that is. If you’ve clearly verbalized exactly what it is that you need and are still not yet compensated, THEN you can complain. But even then… I would skip the complaining and just do something about it. The world will never acknowledge your good behavior and reward you for it. You have to know your worth and demand your reward. Good things don’t come to those who wait. Good things come to those who ask for it. Good things come to those who refuse to take “no” for an answer.
  27. Keeping a blog is like super difficult, but here’s to trying…

-Kat

One Comment Add yours

  1. Marta Frant says:

    It definitely takes courage to do some regular introspection. Sometimes we are just afraid of looking deep down inside of us. You’re such a brave person. I love the #11 – never heard of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

